Opening Times for Libraries

Want to study on campus at a time that suits you? Our libraries have extended opening times to help you do this.

Staffed opening means we have staff on hand to help you at our Service Desks during the times stated.

Outside the staffed opening times the buildings are open for you to access as detailed, but there are no Library staff at the Service Desks to help you. Don't forget though, if you have a query you can ring us 24 hours a day on 01782 295770 (Note that outside staffed hours calls are handled by an external agency), visit our comprehensive Library resources page, or view our Library FAQ page.

Access to the buildings and libraries is by swipe card entry system at all times.  Please remember you must bring your student card with you in order to gain access, and to use the facilities such as self-service book machines and MFD printers.

 

Thompson Library, College Road, Stoke-on-Trent Campus

Date

Opening hours

Staffed hours

Autumn Term Time Opening Hours 2018

Monday 10 September to Sunday 16 December

Monday to Thursday

24/7

09:00 to 19:45

Friday 

24/7

09:00 to 16:45

Saturday and Sunday

24/7

13:15 to 17:45

Christmas Vacation Opening Hours

Monday 17 December to Friday 21 December

24/7

09:00 to 16:45

Monday 24 December

24/7

09:00 to 16:45

Tuesday 25 December to Tuesday 1 January

24/7

Self Service

Tuesday 2 January to Friday 4 January

24/7

09:00 to 16:45

Saturday 5 January to Sunday 6 January

24/7

Self Service

Spring Term Time Opening Hours 2019

Monday 7 January to Sunday 14 April

Monday to Friday

24/7

09:00 to 16:45

Saturday and Sunday

24/7

13:15 to 17:45

Easter Vacation Opening Hours 2019

Monday 15 April to Thursday 18 April,

24/7

09:00 to 16:45

Friday 19 April to Monday 22 April Easter

24/7

Self Service

Tuesday 23 April to Friday 26 April

24/7

09:00 to 16:45

Saturday 27 April to Sunday 28 April

24/7

Self Service

Summer Term Time Opening Hours 2019

Monday 29 April to Sunday 16 June

Monday to Friday

24/7

09:00 to 16:45

Saturday and Sunday

24/7

13:15 to 17:45

Bank Holidays 2019

Friday 19 April to Monday 22 April Easter

24/7

Self Service

Monday 6 May Early May Bank Holiday

24/7

13:15 to 17:45

Monday 27 May Spring Bank Holiday

24/7

Self Service

Monday 26 August, Summer Bank Holiday

24/7

Self Service

Blackheath Lane Centre of Excellence, Stafford Campus 

Date

Opening hours

Staffed hours

Monday 10 September onwards

06:00 to 24:00

Monday to Friday

06:00 to 24:00

09:00 to 16:45

Saturday and Sunday

06:00 to 24:00

Self Service

Public and bank holidays

Tuesday 25 December to Tuesday 1 January

06:00 to 24:00

Self Service

Friday 19 April to Monday 22 April, 2019

Good Friday to Easter Monday

06:00 to 24:00

Self Service

Monday 6 May 2019, Bank Holiday

06:00 to 24:00

13:00 to 17:45

Monday 27 May 2019, Spring Bank Holiday

06:00 to 24:00

Self Service

Monday 26 August 2019, Summer Bank Holiday

06:00 to 24:00

Self Service

Shrewsbury Health Library, Royal Shrewsbury Hospital, Shrewsbury Campus

Please note: Opening hours may vary for Bank Holidays and during the Christmas period, please check with the library for details

 

Library Open

Staffed hours

Monday

24/7

08:30 - 17:00

Tuesday

24/7

08:30 - 17:00

Wednesday

24/7

08:30 - 17:00

Thursday

24/7

08:30 - 17:00

Friday

24/7

08:30 - 17:00

Saturday/Sunday

24/7

Not staffed

 

Self Service Opening Hours

The times when the buildings are open but the Enquiry Desks are not staffed are referred to as Self Service or Out of Hours Opening. The buildings are supervised by Campus Services staff (there is also a Student Rovers team on site at Thompson Library) and access is restricted to:

  • Current Staffordshire University Staff

  • Current Staffordshire University Students and Alumni

  • NHS users who have a valid Library Card and an Out of Hours Access Pass