Innovative Winners!

Left to right - Judge, David Wright (Manufacturing Advisory Service -West Midlands),  Paul Hulme, (Head Designer, Aynsley China), Adele Barnes, (KTP Associate), Claire Renn, (KTP Associate), Prof David Sanderson, (Academic Supervisor, Staffordshire University), Susan Semple (Staffordshire University) and Lord Stafford.

Congratulations to all of those involved in the knowledge Transfer Partnership between Staffordshire University and Aynsley China Limited, which was successfully announced as the Winner of Achievement in Innovation at the this Years Lord Stafford Awards.

The KTP team consists of Professor David Sanderson, Academic Supervisor at Staffordshire University, Mr Paul Hulme, Head of Design at Aynsley China Limited, Clair Renn and Adele Barnes. 

They began the project in September 2006 and have successfully established an in house design resource with associated new digital technologies, and have created a new three dimensional surface designs to re-establish Aynsley China as a design led manufacturing business.

The Lord Stafford Awards were developed in 1997 to recognise and encourage the development of collaborative relationships between businesses and universities. 

The Lord Stafford Awards are the perfect opportunity to be recognised as one of the region's innovators.  By bringing together the wealth of excellent research and development work produced by Universities and diverse business enterprises, the awards seek to generate increased competitiveness and knowledge transfer.

This year’s judging panel consisted of Lord Stafford, Professor Julia King (VC Aston University), Mr Frank Mills (BT), Mr Paul Bishop (Winning Moves), Mr David Wright (MAS-WM) and Dr Richard Hutchins (Advantage West Midlands).

For more information on the Lord Stafford Awards visit


Judy O'Brien
University Communications Manager
2 Winton Square
St4 2DE
t: +44 (0)1782 294345
e: j.l.o'