Staffs Future Journalist Awards honours upcoming stars

Aspiring journalists from across Staffordshire have been recognised for their writing talents at the Staffs Future Journalist Awards.
Hundreds of pupils from the ages of 7-18 across the county entered the competition and the top 15 writers were chosen by the university's leading journalism lecturers: Ian Bayley, Mitch Pryce and Jo Goodall.
Amongst proud family members and friends the ceremony was also attended by Stoke-on-Trent's Deputy Leader of the Council, Abi Brown and Lord Mayor, Anthony Munday.
The Lord Mayor, a journalist himself, congratulated StaffsLive, the university's student run news website for sponsoring the competition.
He went on to present Year six category winner Natalia Malinowska with her award for her winning piece on Geography.
When explaining why she wrote her piece on the subject, the pupil from John Wheeldon Primary Academy, which is part of the Staffordshire University Academies Trust, articulated how she aspires to travel the world one day.
“We get to know everything about the world. It's not just maps, its flags, languages and culture.”
Councillor Abi Brown, a Staffordshire University graduate, presented the Year four category awards and spoke about Stoke-on-Trent's 2021 city of culture bid.
“It's a massive opportunity for the city that wins, it's all about promoting that place and also improving it which is why it’s so great to be here at the awards.

“Culture is about everything we do, where we live, what we eat and how we speak and that for me is what makes Stoke-on-Trent a great place to live.
“It's also about how we can make the city a better place to be and the best people who can tell us what the future of Stoke-on-Trent should be like are young people.”
BBC's Foreign Correspondent and honorary Staffordshire University graduate, Clive Myrie, was set to present at the awards ceremony but was posted to report from Nigeria at the last minute.
Mr Myrie sent his well wishes to the students on their achievements through a video recording which was aired at the ceremony.
The ceremony took place at Staffordshire University's main campus and concludes the Staffs Future Journalist competition, which was organised by the university's third year journalism students.
The Full list of winners are as follows:
Year 3 -  Winner: Charlie Shaw. Runners up: Ruby Fowler & Alfie Womble (All St Joseph's Preparatory School).
Year 4 - Winner: Jack Harrison. Runners up: Ruby Morris & John -Paul Ambrose (All St Joseph's Preparatory School).
Year 5 - Winner: Molly Holt (St Filumena’s Catholic Primary School). Runners up: Haris Abbasti & Becky Low (Both St Joseph's Preparatory School).
Year 6 - Winner: Natalia Malinowska (John Wheeldon Primary Academy). Runners up: Matilda King (John Wheeldon Primary Academy) & Jack Royall (St Joseph's Preparatory School).
Year 7 and above - Winner: Emily Kirk (Westwood College). Runners up: Charlie Ball & Max Chimenes (Both Port Vale Academy).
For further information on the awards ceremony contact or visit:  http@//

Article credit - Aimee Corten Photo credit - Richard Holmes