Teaching Excellence Fellowship

“I am proud and delighted to present to you this publication to celebrate the work of the University’s Teaching Excellence Fellows. These members of staff have a vast amount of knowledge, skills and experience, thereby providing innovative solutions to a range of pedagogic challenges. With the launch of the new Academy of Teaching Excellence Fellows, the University now intends to capitalise on this rich resource of learning and teaching expertise, capturing the collective energy of this vibrant community in order to enrich and enhance the student learning experience.” 

Liz Barnes - Vice Chancellor and Chief Executive of Staffordshire University 


Originally introduced in 2002, the Teaching Excellence Fellowship is now a well-established way of recognising and rewarding University staff involved in the effective facilitation of learning and teaching.  Since the start of this scheme, over 60 staff have been awarded a Teaching Excellence Fellowship. These Fellowships are awarded annually and are intended to promote a culture where the effective facilitation of learning and teaching is supported as a valued activity and those engaged in it are proud to display and disseminate evidence of their excellent practice to others.

Scheme overview

The specific aims of the Teaching Excellence Fellowship are to:
• Recognise and celebrate excellent achievement in teaching and learning support;
• Improve the quality of teaching and learning support through the dissemination of best practice;
• Involve excellent practitioners  in the educational development activities of the University;
• Promote a culture of scholarship and reflective practice;
• Contribute to the achievement of the University’s strategic objectives;

Each Teaching Excellence Fellowship last for a period of 2 years and includes: 
1. An annual honorarium of £1000
2. £1000 to support the pedagogic development project being undertaken
3. A re-balanced workload, in negotiation with each Fellow’s line manager, of up to 3 hours a week.

All University staff who teach or support learning can apply for a Fellowship. Normally, 6 Teaching Excellence Fellowships a year are awarded. It is a highly competitive process in which the number of applicants often exceeds the Fellowships available.

Process and Dates

Application process

Each applicant is expected to complete a written form and attend a short interview. Guidance for applicants is provided throughout the process, and all current Teaching Excellence Fellows can provide mentoring support to colleagues.

Teaching Excellence Fellowship Application Form
Teaching Excellence Fellowship Guidelines

So what happens at the end of the 2-year Fellowship?

Once the 2-year projects have been completed, all Teaching Excellence Fellows are invited to become part of the Academy of Teaching Excellence Fellows. This allows them to continue to be Teaching Excellence Fellows, making a continuing contribution to teaching excellence by sharing their practice.

A brochure giving full details of the membership of the Academy of Teaching Excellence Fellows can be found by following the link below, and was endorsed by Liz Barnes, the University’s Vice Chancellor and Chief Executive

Academy of Teaching Excellence Fellows brochure



For presentations from the Teaching Excellence Fellowship members  please visit the Learning and Teaching - Best Practice page, which demonstrates best practice from both Academic and Support staff across Staffordshire University. 


Teaching Excellence Fellows

The Academy of Teaching Excellence Fellowship has the following current members:

Business, Leadership and Economics: Angela Lawrence and Dr Tolurewaju Olarewaju.

Computing and Digital Technologies: Elhadj Benkhelifa, Alan Eardley,  Dr Alke Grppel-Wegener, Graham Mansfield, Stuart Messinger, Nia Wearn and Phill Windridge.

Creative Arts and Engineering: Paul Christie, Tim Harris, Dr Lisa Mansell, Rob Marsden, Professor Fiona Tweed and Janet Wright.

Health and Social Care: Dr Liz Boath, Emily Browne, Tim Davies, Neil Davis , Ruth Handley, Gavin Johnson, Bernard Moss and Lauren Philp.

Law, Policing and Forensics: Rachel Bolton-King, John Cassella, Claire Gwinnett,  Louis Martin, Janet Spence, John Wheeler and Laura Walton Williams.

Life-Sciences and Education: James Capper, Francesca Cornwall, Mani Das Gupta, John Erskine, Jackie Forsyth, Ashley Gill, Duncan Hindmarch,  Stephen Merry, Sandra Murray, Paul Orsmond, Jim Pugh and Mark Savage.

Academic Development Unit: Jaswinder Sahota

Library: Julie Adams, Jane Ball, Paul Biggs, Eleanor Johnston, Vicky McGarvey and Alison Pope.

Admissions and Recruitment Ashley Cotton

If you would like to know any information, then please do not hesitate and contact Ellen or Marj, details are below.


Back to Academic Staff Development


Dr Marj Spiller
Head of Academic Staff Development
Academic Development Unit
Staffordshire University
Room S112, Mellor Building
College Road
Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire

t: +441782294403
e: M.Spiller@staffs.ac.uk

Ellen Lockett
Academic Development Co-Ordinator
Academic Development Unit
Staffordshire University
Room S110, Mellor Building
College Road
Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire

t: +44178294127
e: E.Lockett@staffs.ac.uk