Atoms/Iconography/360-white@2xion-briefcase - Ionicons Copy@2xAtoms/Iconography/calendar-dark@2xAtoms/Iconography/calendar-pinkAtoms/Iconography/calendar-pinkAtoms/Iconography/calendar-dark Copy@2x3B13F687-6EB2-452A-B918-16B02FF86090@2xchevron-right - FontAwesome@2x81A2B1C2-3C1E-48C0-8EAB-2BB76C1052E1@2xchevron-right - FontAwesome@2xchevron-right - FontAwesome@2xchevron-right - FontAwesome Copy@2x18D48E51-758C-47E9-949E-1E58FC9454A3@2xAtoms/Iconography/close-red@2xAtoms/Iconography/close-white@2xion-android-cloud-circle - Ionicons@2xAtoms/Brand/connected-uni-logo-white@2xAtoms/Iconography-download-icon-white@2xdropdown-chevron-black@2xAtoms/Iconography/dropdown-form-chevron-white@2xAtoms/Iconography/email-icon-light@1xF93E1E4C-136C-41CA-8FC9-02353765C1C0@2xA14CB21F-CD96-450C-BBD7-6647B25B0D0D@1xatoms/Iconography/facebook-icon@2xAtoms/Iconography/facebook-iconAtoms/Iconography/google-plus-icon@2xion-ios-information-outline - IoniconsAtoms/Iconography/instagram-iconGroup@2xAtoms/Iconography/linkedin-icon@2xion-android-menu - Ionicons@2x934F565B-4D4A-4BBE-B4EA-29E0D367BC7F@2xAtoms/Iconography/minus-icon@2xAEC8A5E2-9638-45F8-9E94-3C320D2410A9@2xAtoms/Iconography/nav-icon-white Copy@2xAtoms/Iconography/pause-icon-white@2xion-android-person - Ionicons@2xAtoms/Iconography/phone-icon-white@2x5131105A-B2E1-443D-A44D-E6DCCBBF53DD@2xAtoms/iconography/pintrest-icon@2xAtoms/Iconography/play-button-white@2xAtoms/Iconography-play-button-white-2@2xAtoms/Iconography/plus-icon-black@2xAtoms/Iconography/print-icon-light@2x34CD08DE-22EB-4484-B0B4-48190645DEBC@2xsearch - FontAwesome@2xAtoms/Iconography/search-white@2xAtoms/Iconography/snapchat-icon@2xAtoms/Iconography/tick-green@2xAtoms/Iconography/twitter-icon@2xAtoms/Iconography/twitter-iconAtoms/Iconography/youtube-icon@2xAtoms/Iconography/youtube-icon@2xAtoms/Iconography/icon-tiktok-iconAtoms/Iconography/icon-tiktok-colour Skip to content Skip to search


The University has a Board of Governors, the responsibilities of which are set out in the Instrument of Government. In summary, the Board is responsible for overseeing the strategic development of the University and for the effective and efficient use of resources. 

General issues relating to the research, scholarship, teaching and courses at the University, including criteria for the admission of students, are the responsibility of Academic Board. It acts in an advisory capacity on such academic matters that maybe referred to, or by, the Board of Governors. 

Staffordshire University is a higher education corporation under the provisions of the Education Reform Act 1988. In exercise of the powers conferred upon it by section 125 of this Act the Board of Governors has made Articles of Government in accordance with which the University shall be conducted. These Articles together with an Instrument of Government in regard to the operation of the Board were approved by the Board of Governors at its meeting held on 24 June 1992 and by the Privy Council on 5 March 1993.  


The Board of Governors is made up of 15 members:  

  • Independent governors: 10    
  • Staff governors: 2
  • Student governors: 2
  • Vice-Chancellor: 1

Independent governors

Our independent governors, who are drawn from a wide range of industries and backgrounds, serve a three-year term, for a maximum of three terms of office.  

Staff governors

Staffordshire University's Board of Governors is strengthened by two staff governors: one from our academic community and one from our team of professional support staff. Like our independent governors, our staff governors serve for a three-year term of office, and are eligible to stand for a total of three terms. All University staff are entitled to vote in the elections for staff governors: either for the academic representative or the professional support representative. 

Student governors

One member is the elected Students' Union President and one is nominated by the Student's Union.


The Vice-Chancellor serves as a member of the Board of Governors for as long as he or she is in position. 

Read more about the current Board of Governors.