Atoms/Iconography/360-white@2xion-briefcase - Ionicons Copy@2xAtoms/Iconography/calendar-dark@2xAtoms/Iconography/calendar-pinkAtoms/Iconography/calendar-pinkAtoms/Iconography/calendar-dark Copy@2x3B13F687-6EB2-452A-B918-16B02FF86090@2xchevron-right - FontAwesome@2x81A2B1C2-3C1E-48C0-8EAB-2BB76C1052E1@2xchevron-right - FontAwesome@2xchevron-right - FontAwesome@2xchevron-right - FontAwesome Copy@2x18D48E51-758C-47E9-949E-1E58FC9454A3@2xAtoms/Iconography/close-red@2xAtoms/Iconography/close-white@2xion-android-cloud-circle - Ionicons@2xAtoms/Brand/connected-uni-logo-white@2xAtoms/Iconography-download-icon-white@2xdropdown-chevron-black@2xAtoms/Iconography/dropdown-form-chevron-white@2xAtoms/Iconography/email-icon-light@1xF93E1E4C-136C-41CA-8FC9-02353765C1C0@2xA14CB21F-CD96-450C-BBD7-6647B25B0D0D@1xatoms/Iconography/facebook-icon@2xAtoms/Iconography/facebook-iconAtoms/Iconography/google-plus-icon@2xion-ios-information-outline - IoniconsAtoms/Iconography/instagram-iconGroup@2xAtoms/Iconography/linkedin-icon@2xion-android-menu - Ionicons@2x934F565B-4D4A-4BBE-B4EA-29E0D367BC7F@2xAtoms/Iconography/minus-icon@2xAEC8A5E2-9638-45F8-9E94-3C320D2410A9@2xAtoms/Iconography/nav-icon-white Copy@2xAtoms/Iconography/pause-icon-white@2xion-android-person - Ionicons@2xAtoms/Iconography/phone-icon-white@2x5131105A-B2E1-443D-A44D-E6DCCBBF53DD@2xAtoms/iconography/pintrest-icon@2xAtoms/Iconography/play-button-white@2xAtoms/Iconography-play-button-white-2@2xAtoms/Iconography/plus-icon-black@2xAtoms/Iconography/print-icon-light@2x34CD08DE-22EB-4484-B0B4-48190645DEBC@2xsearch - FontAwesome@2xAtoms/Iconography/search-white@2xAtoms/Iconography/snapchat-icon@2xAtoms/Iconography/tick-green@2xAtoms/Iconography/twitter-icon@2xAtoms/Iconography/twitter-iconAtoms/Iconography/youtube-icon@2xAtoms/Iconography/youtube-icon@2x Skip to content Skip to search

Academic board

The University's Committee and Board Structure comprises the Academic Board and its reporting Committees, together with the University Executive.

  • Academic Board
  • University Executive 

Academic structure

The academic structure of the University is based around the following schools:

  • Staffordshire Business School
  • School of Computing and Digital Technologies
  • School of Creative Arts and Engineering
  • School of Health and Social Care
  • School of Law, Policing and Forensics
  • School of Life Sciences and Education

There is also a full range of service departments, designed to complement and enhance the work of the schools and provide support for students and staff.

Terms of Reference

The Academic Board is responsible for:

  • Considering and advising the Vice Chancellor and Board of Governors, as appropriate, on the planning, development, oversight and resourcing of all the academic work of the University, including teaching, research and knowledge transfer.
  • Reporting to the Board of Governors, directly or through the Strategy and Performance Committee, both on matters relevant to determining the educational character of the University and which may impact on the University's reputation or its financial health.
  • Oversight of the quality and academic standards of our educational provision, including matters relating to validation or accreditation by external bodies.
  • Considering the University Plan and its relevant sub-strategies and implementation plan.
  • Approving policies and procedures for the assessment and examination of the academic performance of students, including procedures for the exclusion of students for academic reasons (the 'Award Regulations').
  • Approving other policies and procedures relating to the conduct of students (‘Academic Misconduct’, ‘Student Disciplinary’).
  • Approving those individuals to be awarded honorary degrees each year.
  • Advising on the procedures and criteria for the appointment and promotion of members of teaching and research staff.
  • Monitoring progress with implementation of the University's Access Agreement with the Office for Fair Access (OFFA).
  • As delegated to the Student Experience Committee, determining the criteria for the admission of students.
  • As delegated to the Quality Committee, determining the appointment and removal of external examiners. 


  • Vice Chancellor (Chair)
  • Deputy Vice Chancellor (Deputy Chair)
  • Pro Vice Chancellor – Student Experience
  • Pro Vice Chancellor – Partnerships and Region
  • Dean of Students
  • 6 Deans of School:
    • Business, Leadership and Economics
    • Computing and Digital Technologies
    • Creative Arts and Engineering
    • Health and Social Care
    • Law, Policing and Forensics
    • Life Sciences and Education
  • Director of Research
  • 2 Associate Deans
  • 3 Members of Academic Staff, one of which must be from the Professoriate
  • 2 Elected Members of Professional Support Services
  • President of Students' Union (or nominee)
  • Student Representative (nominated by the President of the Students' Union)

Academic Board Committees

There are 6 main committees within the Academic Board and its sub-committee structure:

  • Academic Strategy Committee
  • University Partnerships Committee
  • Quality & Enhancement Committee
  • Professorial Conferment Committees
  • Honorary Awards Committee
  • Research and Innovation Committee